15 Minutes

My freshman year, as many of you know, I joined a sorority. At a whopping 400 girls, give or take a few, and each pledge class consisting of 100+ girls each year. Obviously, it is impossible to get to know each other and be best friends with everyone, but I am blessed to say that by this year, my junior year, I am able to point out every girl in my pledge class and tell you at least one memory that I have with them. I think living in the house has had a lot to do with that. *Insert heartfelt speech encouraging everyone to live in the house here.*

One person that I had the pleasure of getting to know while living in the house was a girl named Gracie. Gracie is one of the loudest, most obnoxious, intelligent, beautiful, athletic, encouraging, and mostly misunderstood girls that I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. For the longest time, I misunderstood her. I saw this girl with perfect blonde hair that had the body of a rock star and I really didn’t get how she could be so awesome at everything. Sure I knew Gracie a little I had vented to her about school and the annoying males of the world, and she, in turn, had vented to me, but that was really as far as it got with us. We were friends that were a little closer than acquaintances. But this semester I happened to be available one Tuesday afternoon to give Gracie a ride home. I was on my way out to run errands and I said to myself why not, I’m not doing anything. Little did I know that the fifteen minutes it took to walk to my car and drop Gracie off was going to alter my life and our friendship. We started the usual venting, but that day it was different. I had been given news about a family member that day that wasn’t what I was hoping for, and for some reason, I told Gracie. Instead of giving me a hug, or telling me it was all going to work out or be okay, Gracie told me something along the lines of, “You know that just sucks.” And we moved with our lives and her news of the week. Gracie has never known that in that moment she became a person that I think of as someone I can go to for anything. She has never known that moment has been on my mind since that warm day in September. She has never known that she actually gets me, until now. But she didn’t have to because in that moment I understood the person that I had misunderstood before. What makes Gracie Blanchard, Gracie Blanchard is not her hair or her enthusiasm about life or her legs. (Which Gracie help a sister out with that workout we all are dying to know it!!) Anyway, what makes Gracie Blanchard, Gracie Blanchard is her crazy big heart for people.

Since that day, Gracie and I have met every Tuesday after my 12:30 class for me to drive her home. I have heard more stories than I can count and learned more about Gracie than I ever imagined I would freshman year. I have learned that Gracie is actually a whole lot like me. She is driven and a #GirlBoss going somewhere someday and honestly I hope that when that day comes she will still give me those fifteen minutes to fill me in.

Whoever you are, whatever your position in life is right now. Take fifteen minutes of your week to get to know someone better. Whether that be a colleague, a friend of a friend, or even a sorority sister like me. You never know what might come of it.

*Gracie: Sorry for getting sappy on you.

P.S. send me a snap when you read this 😉 Love you!

Leave a Reply

