What it’s Like Living With GERD

It’s 5:04 AM I should be sleeping, but instead, I’m wide awake fighting the urge to not be sick.

I have a test at 9:30 this morning and I haven’t slept at all. I had one cup of coffee with Almond Milk instead of regular milk and my body has decided that one cup was a cup too much. My body is hot and uncomfortable, my throat is raw, and I would kill to be able to just sit without the pain of someone stabbing me and my chest being on fire.

I was diagnosed with GERD my freshman year of college within the first week. It was stress induced… from recruitment… yeah you read that right. I stressed myself out so much that my symptoms of GERD that I had never been told that I had before flared up in a rage that had my throat so raw it hurt to swallow ice cold water.

The doctor prescribed me an over the counter medicine, that once I felt better, I stopped taking day to day, instead only as needed. (I know this isn’t what docs say to do but the stuff is expensive) I was given a strict diet of no acidity, which I waved off like it was just a suggestion, and began learning to listen to my body. Here are the things that I am still learning two years later.

Here are the things that I am still learning two years later.

  1. You really should look at what you put into your body.
  2. I will forever miss the taste of french fries, pizza, and fried chicken, and learning how to live without them is super hard.
  3. If I splurge on acidic food for one meal it better be worth it because the rest of the day will suck.
  4. The diet that the doctor gave me wasn’t really a suggestion.

My symptoms have gotten progressively worse over the years as I tried to splurge here and there. Now I do everything I can to not splurge. Spaghetti Sauce? Nope, not a chance. Oranges? Not unless it’s a cutie and I am in dire need of Vitamin C. Anything caffeinate? Coffee, tea, cokes? Not unless I’m desperate and tonight I was. But not desperate enough to endure this pain all night long.

Hopefully one day I will get more than just temporary relief from a chewy tums, hopefully, I’ll be able to go out with my friends without going home early from being sick. Hopefully, I’ll be able to eat all the foods that hate living without. But until then I am living with GERD and it’s not really that fun.

2 thoughts on “What it’s Like Living With GERD

  1. endlessbitesblog says:

    I am a college student with GERD as well so this article was very relatable for me. Much like you, I started experiencing GERD two years ago (due to stress) and stopped taking the medication that my doctor prescribed because I thought it had gone away. I just wanted to reach out to you to let you know that someone is in the same boat! Its difficult living on such a strict diet but I hope one day these symptoms will eventually go away (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

